Among the most trusted professional drivers in California are Bus Drivers. Each day, several thousand commuters and children place their safety in the hands of the driver operating multi‐passenger transit and school buses. Whether the driver is moving passengers as part of a rapid transit system, or is moving developmentally handicapped children to school, we have the right to expect the driver to be well trained and to perform their job with great care.
Losing Your License and the Need for Bus Drivers DMV Defense
Because of the trust given to bus drivers, the People of the State of California and the California Department of Motor Vehicles will hold this class of driver to a higher standard than nearly every other class of driver. Because of this, a driver may have his application for a Special Certificate refused or, may have an existing Special Certificate suspended or revoked if:
- Failure to pass an FBI/DOJ background check or, after the certificate is issued, if found to have committed any act which endangers the vulnerable nature of passengers. This includes issues of moral turpitude.
- Is named a Negligent Operator. An accumulation of too many moving violations within a specified period of time or any conviction which assigns two points to the driving record.
- Involvement in 3 accidents within 12 months.
- Involvement in a serious or fatal accident.
- Violation of any law involving the use of vehicle covered by a Special Certificate.
- Making false statements.
- Irrational behavior. Any demonstrated behavior which would lead a normally prudent person to believe the driver could not perform the duties required by a Special Certificate.
- Use or addition to alcohol or drugs.
- Physical and Mental Conditions.
- Sex offenses.
- Felony convictions.
Start Protecting your Bus Drivers Certificate with Bus Drivers DMV Defense
There are numerous means by which the DMV can move to refuse, suspend, or revoke a Special Certificate. Many times, a driver’s Special Certificate may be endangered over false or inaccurate information and therefore, the driver is permitted to protect himself. In these instances, it is necessary to conduct a Special Certificate Hearing. If you receive notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles that they intend to refuse, suspend or revoke your Bus Drivers Certificate, you must act quickly. To protect your certificate, contact must be made with the Office of Driver Safety (DSO) within the first 10 days following the notice of suspension. Failure to contact the DMV within that time period forfeits your right to a hearing and the suspension or revocation is automatic. You are entitled to fight for yourself and you cannot make the suspension/revocation any worse by doing so. All you can do is make the situation better.
How Can We Help Bus Drivers? – Our professional team has been assisting bus drivers in California for decades. We understand exactly what it takes to represent you and fight for your ability to continue to hold your ambulance drivers license. Our team has the resources as well as the experience to ensure that all aspects of your DMV defense are covered and that you are provided the best possible chance to maintain your driving privilege. Detailed research of every client’s specific situation and factors contributing to the activity in question are analyzed and a formal plan is created to provide the best possible DMV defense. DO NOT trust your case with a less experienced team as it may result in the Loss of Your Driving Privilege.
More about Special Certificates at the California DMV